top of page

Vincent Van Gogh Forest

The lesson plan was based of Vincent Van Gogh, specifically his landscape pieces, like his Starry Night painting. In this lesson Eva talked about how Van Gogh was a famous Dutch artist, who in just ten years painted over 2,000 paintings. She also talked about how Van Gogh was famous for his bold colors and expressive brush strokes. The project demonstration was broken up into two parts The first part of the project was painting the sky. To immediate the bold brush strokes Eva used a water resistance technique by making little dash with oil pastels and then watercolor over it. she also talked about using cool or warm color with oil pastels and the opposite with the water color. The second step of the demonstration was making trees by cutting paper in triangle then decoupaging tissue paper on top of it. Then when the sky was dried she glued the trees on the paper below the skyline.

Classroom management went over pretty good today, thought it worked really well to split the lesson in to two parts. If I was going to change anything was I would have moved the demonstration to a different table, I think kids could have seen it better and would have been able to participate more. The two objective for this lesson I think where students should be able to understand and use water resistance to created a Van Gogh sky and students should be able to identify warm and cool colors. I think Eva was able to get all the students in the class to complete both objectives by carefully going over both of these topics in her demonstration and also she kept talking about them during work time. I think a big thing Eva could have improved on was her questioning throughout the whole class. During the demonstration she did have a few question that engaged the students, but she didn’t continue the question through work time. Overall I feel that Eva did a good job with this lesson and fitting it to the needs of the class.

I think the best thing Eva did today was using the term friends to gather the classes attention. I felt that it as a effective use of professional language in the classroom and it was a que all the students new and listened to. I think Eva could improve on the speed of her demonstration, especially the second one. She was jumping around a bunch and was moving too fast for some of the students and I think that this created some confusion in the class. I think that over the past ten weeks I have definitely become a much more confident teacher, but I know that I still have a lot to learn. I think that the PAINT internship really showed me the joy in working with young children and teaching art.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page